5…4…3…2…1… BLAST OFF!

As I would, I mis-counted / mis-timed my October themes this year. I had apples, fall, pumpkins, and halloween….or so I thought. I started a week earlier than I planned to or realized (I’m not sure?) and all of a sudden I had finished with pumpkins and was ready for halloween….except I still had another week! oops!

Duh_duh_duh

So, between pumpkins and halloween came a random excursion into the final frontier.

tumblr_static_final_frontier

 

Space is always fun!

One of my sessions was super rowdy so wee didn’t get through all of our books or rhymes. My other session made it through more, but still not all of them. either it was a crazy week, or I picked too many things to do.

“The Mouse Who Ate the Moon” by Petr Horacek. I thought it was a cute story, but the illustration style wasn’t my favorite. Once again, I think my kids are getting too smart for these! As soon as they saw the Banana, they knew. This story is supposed to play out like the mouse finds a piece of the moon (the banana) and it smells good so she eats it and then gets worried that she’s done something wrong, but it ended up being the kids had to try to convince me that it wasn’t the moon that the mouse ate because, darn it, I wasn’t gonna let it go! hah

“The Way Back Home by Oliver Jeffers” is a super cute story about a boy who finds an airplane in his closet and flies it into space, only to break down and get stuck on the moon, but he’s not alone. Shortly after landing on the moon he finds out that an alien has also broken down and crashed landed here. The boy and the alien, though frightened at first, then work together to help one another fix their ship and head back home. Teamwork! team-work-gif

 

“Higher! Higher! by Leslie Patricelli” is a very cute story with only like, 5 or so words in it; there are words on almost every page, but lots of repetition. Each time the girl is pushed on the swing she proclaims “Higher! Higher!” each time she goes higher she is met with a new scene until she then also meets a new friend. High fives are exchanged,

and then it’s back home again.

I didn’t actually read this book during one of my sessions due to squirelly-ness but then during craft time I had a couple of the quieter kids who wondered if there were more books so OF COURSE I obliged and read them this book while the rest of the kids were more active on the other side of the room.


One of the other books I read was “On the Launch Pad by Michael Dahl”
I have mixed feelings about this title; I like it, but I also felt like it took some explaining on some of the pages. I do like when a book offers and opens itself to dialogue beyond what’s written on the pages, but I may have missed the mark by picking something that I felt NEEDED dialogue beyond what’s on the page. I would usually chalk something like this up to my making a bad choice in level of book to use, but being that this is a counting book one would think that it should be pretty easy and geared towards a pretty young age.  Oh well!

Here are the rhymes I used. I switched them up and did a couple one day and another set the other, based of off wigglyness, of course. 🙂

I’m a rocket

I’m a rocket on the ground (crouch down on ground)
Waiting quietly without a sound (say softly and put finger to lips)
Light this fuse on my little toe (wiggle little toe, or point finger at toe)
Ready for blastoff, here I go! (put hands over head to form rocket point)
5 – 4 – 3 – 2 – 1
LIFT OFF! (Jump into air)

 

Going to the Moon

Zoom, zoom, zoom (rub hands)
I’m going to the moon (fly hands upward)
If you want to take the trip (wave “come on”)
Climb aboard my rocket ship (pretend to climb a ladder)
We’re blasting off real soon!

10 … 9 … 8 … 7 … 6 … 5 … 4 … 3 … 2 … 1
BLAST OFF! (jump)

Faster faster faster we’ll soar up to the sky (Jump and reach)
Floating, soaring, gliding, isn’t it fun to fly? (arms like wings)
Now we’re on the moon, let’s all take a look (look around)
Now if you sit back down again, I’ll read you all a book. (sit down)

 

Tiny Star

There’s a tiny little star way up in the sky (use fingers to show tiny)
A tiny little star up so very high (raise fist higher)
She twinkles brightly (open fist & wiggle fingers)
All throughout the night (wiggle back and forth)
But in the day she fades away (wiggle fingers down)
She’s hiding out of sight (hide hand behind back)

 

And last but not least, our craft!  We talked about the different things that we saw in our space books and what we might see if WE went to space which led us to our craft of making a spaceship window! We took two paper plates, one whole, and one WITH a hole, and we drew a space scene on the whole plate then topped it with the holey plate which we covered with tin foil for a very spacey look.

I can’t quite remember where I first saw this but here’s a link to one place. 🙂

 

12162572_912411365354_1168527977_o

Leave a Reply

