Sunny Day

Now that we are done with our Summer Library Program, and on a storytime break, I have time to catch up on some back posts!

Some of you may know because you live in the area, and other may have heard on the news about the freak flash flooding we had recently in the Detroit area, well as much as I enjoy a good rainstorm, it’s never fun when it gets out of hand so on the other end of the spectrum, I thought I should post about a storytime I did recently about the sun and clouds. I had done a space/moon/rocket ship themed StoryTech recently and decided to continue with a similar theme that also went with the season as well. I kinda love themes and tying them all together. I know I’ve mentioned it before; I also know that probably nobody in the storytime audience notices but I amuse myself with it and that’s all that really matters, right?  right.   😉

Anywho, since we did some fun night time sky stuff books last time, this time it was daytime sky stuff books.

The books I read were:

The Sun is my Favorite Star by Frank Asch

Little Cloud by Eric Carle

Why the Sun and the Moon live in the Sky
(there are many versions of this book as it is an old folktale, I used the version by Elphinstone Dayrell and Blair Lent)

 

I had a great response to this storytime theme! Lots of people asked for the books (on Thursday I can just give them out, but Monday can sometimes be hard because if I only have one copy of a title, I can’t give it away since I need it for my Thursday session as well.)

I was quite excited with the variety of books I was able to find and use for this storytime because it isn’t often that I find a fairytale/folktale or non-fiction title that will work well for storytime, but this week I was able to find one of each and they went over swimmingly. 🙂

Little cloud is aways fun to read because even though it is a pretty basic book, you can read it many different ways. With my preschool group being a bit older, I chose to read it as a very interactive guessing game. I would read the text and then take a peek to myself on the next page at what the cloud had turned into and then give them clues or hints or whatever, they would guess, sometimes I would just take a peek and laugh or gasp, the kids really enjoyed that book.

 

Aside from the stories, we also did this action rhyme a few times:

 

 

Big Round Sun

The big round sun in the springtime sky
(form large circle with arms)

Waved at a cloud that was passing by.  
(wave)

The little cloud laughed as it scattered rain,
(flutter fingers downward)

Then out came the big round sun again.
(form large circle with arms)

 

I also asked the kids if they were a c loud, what they would turn into and then let them demonstrate if they could, tons of fun and giggles! 😀

 

We did a very easy craft after which consisted of grabbing big blue sheets of construction paper, white crayons, yellow die-cut sun shapes, and cotton balls. I had the kids draw some cloud shapes then fill them in.

One of the kids even gave their sky two suns  😉

 

I really enjoyed this theme and had a TON of books I could have used so I’m sure I’ll do it again to try 0out some other titles!

Leave a Reply

