bears bears bears bears!

 

tumblr_maqc1tGbGm1rx6kkxo1_500

Winnie the Pooh
Winnie the Pooh
Tubby little cubby all stuffed with fluff
He’s Winnie the Pooh
Winnie the Pooh
Willy nilly silly old bear

 

This weeks theme was bears, though sadly, I didn’t read any Winnie the Pooh books. :/

Maybe I’ll do a whole Winnie the Pooh storytime! ooh….ideas!

 

Anyhow, I did read some pretty great books and had some fun flannel and rhymes as well.

One of my new favorite author / illustrator duos is Sean Bryan and Tom MurphyI read one of their other books in a previous storytime and loved it so when I saw that they had a bear themed one I was all over it. They’re cute and silly and quick with great rhythm and get lots of giggles from the kids. The first book of theirs that I read was “A Boy and his Bunny” which is about a boy with a bunny on his head and what he does (or can do) in his day to day life, bu what was quite funny about this one was that the roles were reversed and it was called“A Bear and his Boy” and featured a bear with a boy on his back!

 

 “This is the story
Of a Bear named Mack
Who woke up one morning
With a boy on his back!”

I also read the book “Bear Dreams” by Elisha Cooper. The theme of that story is a bit more fall/winter themed since it talks about hibernation, but it was a cute book and had fun pictures so I went with it. The kids seemed to quite like that one because the bear does some silly things like tries to fly with some geese and hop with bunnies. I love the style of the illustrations as well, they’re very pretty watercolor images.

After Bear dreams we got some energy out by going on a bear hunt!

I’m sure most, if not all of you are familiar with the story of “We’re Going on a Bear Hunt” which has been around in many versions for quite some time. we didn’t read the book or just act it out, we did a flannel board for it and I had them help me act it out. Not only is it fun to pretend to climb trees and skip over bridges, but it helps develop their imagination, strengthen gross motor skills, group dynamics, and instill confidence in the kids as they act things out with (somewhat) of an audience.

But mostly, it’s lots of fun. 🙂

Our final book was one that I quite enjoyed, “The Bear Who Shared” by Catherine Rayner. The story is cute but still is able to portray messages of patience as well as sharing/kindness. The illustrations are simple but very pretty and unique, in fact, I remember looking at the cover when I picked it off the shelf and thinking “oh I hope this one is good because I love the picture!”  I’m glad it lived up to my expectations.  I had a couple other rhymes / fingerplays that I considered doing but I ended up only doing one but I’m glad I did because it was a HUGE hit; fits of giggles through the room. yay!

 

Two Little Black Bears 

Two little black bears sitting on a hill
One named Jack and the other named Jill
Run away Jack, run away Jill
Come back Jack, come back Jill
 

Two little black bears digging in the snow
One digs fast and the other digs slow
Run away fast, run away slow
Come back fast, come back slow
 

Two little black bears feeling very proud
One is quiet and the other is loud
Run away quiet, run away loud
Come back quiet, come back loud

 
Two little black bears bouncing with a ball
One bounced short and the other bounced tall
Bounce away short, bounce away tall
Come back short come back tall

 There are many versions of this rhyme out there but that’s the one I used. You can add just about anything that you think you can act out with your hands. Well, I guess you could act it out with more than your hands or use puppets, but I opted for the one finger version a la Jbrary.  So, for example, when you’re saying “One is ___ and the other is___”  you make you voice / actions match to the words. So if one is fast and one is slow, say the words around “fast” really quickly the words around “slow” very slowly. You get the point, the video below shows it better anyhow. hah. I also tried to let the kids come up with different verses to add but they were either not feeling very creative that day or were pretty ok with just the ones I’d done. 😉

 

 

Now we’re on a break from storytime for the next couple weeks so hopefully that’ll give me time to write up some other posts I’d been hoping to get to as well as nail down more details about my Storytime Plus sessions! Exciting!

 

until next time!

Leave a Reply

