Insert clever night animal blog title here.

night_eyes

 

Ya, much like the title of this blog, this storytime, to me, at least, felt a little… flat.

I had wanted to do an owl storytime originally but as I was pulling books for it, I found myself unimpressed with many of the titles I managed to get my hands on. I did end up with one that I liked though “I’m Not Scared!” by Jonathan Allen  which is about an owl who takes his stuffed toy for a walk in the woods at night. This author has a handful of super cute Owl books but only this one really fit with the theme of night time. Aside from that title, I also read “Bats Around the Clock” by Kathi Applet. I LOVED this book! it has excellent rhythm, rhymes, and energy and even though the kids didn’t get any of the references to stars of a bygone era, I and I think a few parents, were quite amused. The book is actually written to help kids learn to tell time, but I thought it fit well with our theme.

I also read a book with very interesting and striking illustrations called  “Nightsong” by Ari Berk . In this book we follow a young bat as he ventures out on his own into the dark. They allude to how bats use sound to see at night and I touched on the topic but I didn’t have the time, nor did I think the kids had the attention span to be able to go into great detail about it; neat concept though none-the-less.

The “Night in the Country” by Cynthia Rylant  was also a cute and gentle read.The illustrations are pretty and the story talks about different noises you hear in the country at night. some animal noises, some not; I liked it.

The kids seemed to enjoy the stories I picked and sat quietly for them. I also did a couple different night animal noise active rhymes and flannel board. The rhyme I did was one I’d seen online and doctored up a tiny bit to flow better for me.

 

Wide Eyed Owl

 

There’s a wide-eyed owl (circle your eyes with your hands)
With a pointed nose (make a beak with your fingers)
Two pointed ears (make ears with your fingers)
And claws for toes (wiggle your “claws”)

He lives in the trees (point way up)
When he looks at you (point to children)
He flaps his wings (flap your wings)
And says, “Whoo! Whoo!” (say “whoo”)

That’s the wide-eyed owl (circle your eyes with your hands)
With a pointed nose (make a beak with your fingers)
Two pointed ears (make ears with your fingers)
And claws for toes (wiggle your “claws”)

Credit: Wilmette Public Library

 

We did the rhyme a couple times but it didn’t catch on too well aside from the part where they got to hoot like an owl, they excelled at that aspect and it was somewhat difficult to reign them back in. haha

I also did a counting flannel board with cute little owls with googly eyes.

These aren’t them, but look how cute they are! I just might have to remake mine to look more like this. 🙂

6e8ee76f837ed7fcd269cf122eeddb10

Five Hooting Owls

Five hooting owls sitting in a tree
One flew away, how many do you see?
one, two, three, four!

Four hooting owls sitting in a tree
One flew away, how many do you see?
one, two, three!


Three hooting owls sitting in a tree
One flew away, how many do you see?
one, two!


Two hooting owls sitting in a tree
One flew away, how many do you see?
one!


One hooting owl sitting in a tree
They flew away, how many do you see?
None!


No more owls sitting in the tree
Now those branches are as empty as can be!

I think if I did the theme over again, I’d pick a wider range of animals to cover but it could have been worse, I suppose.

Next week I’ll have a co-worker filling in for me during my Thursday storytime as I’ll be out of town at a conference and I have a couple special guests visiting for my monday storytime that I’ll tell you all about.

Until then, I’ll be back next week, same bat-time, same bat-channel!  (sorta)  😉

 

clip-art-bats-200902

 

2 thoughts on “Insert clever night animal blog title here.

  1. I don’t think this sounds flat or boring at all. I know what you mean, though. Sometimes I don’t feel like I really love a storytime and I look back and think that I probably tried too hard to make it about a theme. Or sometimes I just tried too hard to get through all the material I had planned when really it would have been better to just do more music or wiggly activities. I’m still learning to let go of my plans, but our parents are always pretty happy and supportive, even when some days are better than others.

    • Thanks, Brytani!
      Reading over the plans it sounds like a good one, but I just wasn’t feeling it. Oh well, it happens. If nothing else, live and learn, right? 😊

Leave a Reply

